Welcome to Peach County

The Tax Commissioner and his staff welcome you to Peach County. The following information is provided to make your move as smooth as possible. Links are provided here to various forms you will need. Please do not hesitate to call us if you have questions.

Register your vehicle if you have just moved from out of state

Individuals have 30 calendar days after establishing residency to register their vehicles. The out-of-state vehicle registration is no longer valid after the 30-day period. If you do not register your vehicle within 30 days, penalties and fines are assessed.

The state of Georgia collects a one-time title ad valorem tax (title tax) of 7 percent. This amount is due upon titling any motor vehicle. Click here to determine the amount due.

New Georgia residents are required to pay 50 percent of the title tax at the time the vehicle is initially registered; the remaining title tax balance is due within one year. New residents who are leasing their vehicles do not have the option of paying 50 percent; the entire cost of registration must be paid to register the vehicle.

If you have a lienholder, the Georgia title will be mailed to the lienholder on file. A title will not be printed until the remaining title tax balance is paid in full.
If you do not have a lienholder, the Georgia title will be mailed to the registered owner at the address on file. A title will not be printed until the remaining title tax balance is paid in full.

If your vehicle requires a Georgia title, you will be unable to register your vehicle and obtain a Georgia license plate (tag) without a Georgia title already issued in your name or without applying for a title at the time of registration.  Click here for a list of vehicle types required to be titled in Georgia.

The following is a list of items you will need to bring to a Peach County tag office:

  • Original out-of-state title issued in your name. OR
  • If you have moved from another state and your lender or leasing company is holding your out-of-state title, you must complete and sign a Statement of Title Held by Lien Holder or Leasing Company and submit it with your original valid out-of-state registration certificate in lieu of your title.
  • If the vehicle is leased, you will also need an original notarized Power of Attorney from the leasing company and the lease agreement (with the name and address of the leasing company).
  • Title Application signed by all owners while at the tag office or an original notarized Power of Attorney for any owner who is not present.
  • Valid current registration from the former state.
  • Valid Georgia Insurance.
  • Date the owner moved to Georgia.
  • Current mileage.
  • Valid Georgia driver's license or valid Georgia identification card with the current Peach County address for each owner.
  • If any owner is not present, a legible photocopy of the valid Georgia driver’s license or valid Georgia  identification card is required.
  • If you need information on how to obtain a Georgia driver’s license or Georgia identification card, click here.

Once your vehicle is registered, you are required to renew the registration by the vehicle's renewal deadline each year, which is the registered owner’s birthday. For more information about tag renewals in Georgia, click here.

Any documents, paperwork, license plates or renewal decals processed in a Peach County tag office can only be returned to the registered owner of the vehicle or a family member with valid government-issued identification showing the same last name and/or same address as the registered owner.

Register your vehicle if you have just moved from another Georgia County

Your address can be changed by visiting a Peach County tag office and presenting a valid Georgia driver’s license or Georgia ID card with the current Peach County address.

If you do not plan to visit a Peach County tag office in the near future, you may complete a Change of Address Request Form and fax or mail it as indicated on the form.

The Georgia Department of Driver Services offers one free change of address on your Georgia Driver’s License online or in person at one of their facilities. Click here for more information.

If you've just bought property in Peach County

First of all, congratulations on your purchase!

Purchasing a new property is an exciting, rewarding and sometimes challenging endeavor. The Tax Commissioner’s office wants to make the transition into your new home as smooth as possible. Remember that you can always contact us at wl-brown@customely.com or at 478-825-3161, or by fax at 478-827-1312 if you have specific questions.

Checklist for New Property Owners

  • Make sure your property taxes are paid in full by the due date. Even if taxes are prorated at closing, it is wise to ensure they have been paid.
  • If you have an escrow account, make sure your mortgage company has paid the taxes. You may find this information by accessing your property tax information.
  • If this property is your primary residence, apply for your Homestead Exemption. You must own and occupy your property on January 1 of the tax year to receive the exemption.

We do not send tax bills to mortgage companies. If your property taxes are in an escrow account, your property tax information will be made available to your mortgage company; however, it is ultimately your responsibility to ensure taxes are paid. If you have questions about whether your mortgage company will be paying your taxes, contact them, especially if your mortgage company has recently changed.

Homestead Exemption

Homestead exemptions have been enacted to reduce the burden of ad valorem taxation for Georgia homeowners. Homestead exemptions are available to all homeowners who occupy the property as of January 1 of the application year. 

Property owners must not be receiving a homestead exemption on any other property, including properties in other Georgia counties or in other states. Married couples are considered by law as a single family unit; therefore, only one homestead exemption between husband and wife may be claimed. Also, all vehicles owned by the applicant and spouse must be registered in Peach County.

Download Application for Homestead Exemption

To be granted a homestead exemption, a person must actually occupy the home, and the home is considered their legal residence for all purposes. Persons that are away from their home because of health reasons will not be denied homestead exemption. A family member or friend can notify the tax receiver or tax commissioner and the homestead exemption will be granted. (O.C.G.A. § 48-5-40)

Download change of address form

Driver's License Information

New Georgia Residents: Before you can register your vehicle, you must get a Georgia driver's license or identification card.

The Georgia Department of Driver Services issues driver's licenses. Call 678-413-8400 or visit the DDS website for more information.