Vehicle Tags

The Peach County Tag Office is part of the Tax Commissioner's office.Georgia Law requires that all vehicle tags be renewed within 30 days before owner's birth date. Renewals after the deadlines are subject to a 10 percent penalty on the ad valorem tax due and a 25 percent penalty on the tag fee.

Except new residents and owners of recently acquired vehicles, all vehicle owners should receive prebills in the mail before their renewal period. Tags may be ordered and taxes paid by mail by following the instructions provided with the pre-bill. There is a $1 charge for tags ordered by mail

Tags may also be purchased in the Tax Commissioner's Office Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. in Suite 103 on the ground floor of the County Courthouse in Fort Valley.

All new residents who have obtained Georgia license plates during the current year will receive renewal pre-bills the following year to renew the tag and pay the ad valorem taxes. If you do not receive your pre-bill for renewal 30 days prior to your birthday, call 478-825-3161 and a pre-bill will be mailed to you.

New Residents

New residents must purchase a Georgia Tag and/or decal within 30 days after residence is established. Visitors who remain in the state for less than 90 days, and out-of-state students are not required to register their vehicles in Georgia as long as they display a valid license plate from their home states unless they accept employment or engage in any trade, profession, or occupation in the state, or enter their children in Georgia public schools. In this case, they must purchase a Georgia tag and/or decal within 30 days after entering Georgia.

If you are coming in from another state, you must register in person and bring the following:

  • Your title or finance papers if the title is held by a lienholder and mailing address of lienholder.
  • Your current out-of-state registration.
  • Name of insurance company and policy number.
  • Odometer reading and the date you purchased the vehicle.